Not signed in.
(Sign in now | register)

Project Ernie

In 2008, NYSMATYC created a new program titled Enhancing Relationships to Nurture and Inspire Educators: Project ERNIE. The purpose of the program is to help integrate new two year college faculty into teaching mathematics at community colleges and to be members of NYSMATYC. Participants of Project Ernie are expected to attend several targeted sessions at the annual conference and participate in general conference activities when not in their own sessions. Cohorts are expected to communicate with each other during the year and periodically share professional development activities with the group.

For each of the Project ERNIE participants, NYSMATYC will provide an allowance covering a) the registration fee for the annual conference in April, b) one year’s paid membership to NYSMATYC, and c) up to $100 of reimbursable expenses.

There is an expectation that the home campus of each participant will provide support, specifically: a) to release participants from teaching responsibilities to attend the annual conference by noon on Friday, and b) to help financially support the member's attendance at this conference.

All applicants are asked to submit an application, a brief vita, and a letter of support from his/her college.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact one of the Project Directors, Raymond LaBounty (labounty@corning-cc.edu) or Mary Beth Orrange (orrange@ecc.edu).

Project Ernie Participants, By Year

Yumiko AkibaCorning CC2019
Francene CiciaAdirondack CC2019
Dale DawesBMCC2019
Nicole DavisAlfred State 2019
Kleva KostaNassau CC2019
James LiporaceRockland CC2019
David PetersonSUNY Orange2019
Sara RoseBroome CC2019
Jason EnglertSuffolk CC2018
Colleen StevensOnondaga CC2018
Elizabeth Carris-SwanSUNY Orange2017
Jason FurneyOnondaga CC2017
Elizabeth McGrathBCC2017
Jodi MerklingerFinger Lakes CC2017
Christine QuinnFinger Lakes CC2017
John RionSUNY Orange2017
Crystal VarlaroMorrisville2017
Patty ZabelOnondaga CC2017
Daniel GroomFinger Lakes2016
Ashley MartinJamestown2016
Ryan McCannColumbia-Greene2016
Erin NewtonOnondaga2016
Alannah BennieWestchester2015
Thomas HeidtMonroe2015
Philip LoudCorning2015
Rachael MillingsSuffolk2015
Joseph BernatNassau2014
Christina Cornejo    Erie2014
Erin LangdonErie2014
Matthew Matcovich Rockland2014
Patricia OwensOnondaga2014
Kaitlin Reissig Orange2014
Kristen Zugibe Rockland2014
Suzanne ZybertBronx2014
Donna AveryOrange2013
Laura BondMonroe2013
Jennifer EddySUNY Morrisville2013
Mary Ellen EnsignTompkins-Cortland2013
Jaclyn LabozzettaSuffolk2013
Heather LiggettOnondaga2013
Susan RothwellErie South2013
Amelia SteinBroome2013
Matt WilliamsMonroe2013
Trevor BradishJefferson2012
Mary CameronMonroe2012
Hatesh RadiaCorning2012
Venessa SinghroyQueensborough2012
Mark BellaviaMonroe2011
Patrick Burdick Corning2011
Ruth CrammondFulton-Montgomery2011
Barbara FisherOrange County2011
Chi GiangWestchester2011
Wadiha HaddadMonroe2011
Josh Hammond Jefferson2011
Lynn Hayes Corning2011
Chris KempGenesee2011
Joel MorochoOrange County2011
Shaun RajanWestchester2011
Mei XingOrange County2011
Marca BruffCorning2010
Michael HigginsErie2010
Max LeeWestchester2010
Brian MillevilleErie2010
Stephanie OlstadColumbia-Greene2010
Tairi Roque-UrreaBroome2010
Abby ToddBroome2010
Christine BradySuffolk2009
Linda CarsonMonroe2009
Tricia ClarkMohawk Valley2009
Tara CopeAdirondack2009
Larry DanforthJefferson2009
Laurie DavisErie2009
Emily HantschMohawk Valley2009
Kevin MartzCorning2009
Jean Nicholas PestieauSuffolk2009
Bert RawertAdirondack2009
John Urrea-RoqueBroome2009
Mary Stella Van WaemsCC of Morris2009