Not signed in.
(Sign in now | register)

Outstanding Contributions to Mathematics Education

The purpose of this award is to recognize members of NYSMATYC who have made significant contributions to mathematics education. These contributions are not limited to the two-year college level and must advance the mathematics education of students beyond the campus of the individual. Nominees for this award should be active members in various mathematics and mathematics education organizations on both the state and national levels. Significant contributions may be on either the state or the national level, but some activity is expected on both levels. Activities which may be considered by the awards committee include, but are not limited to, the following: Curriculum Development, Pedagogical Improvement, Publications, Coalition Building, Teaching Expertise, Departmental Leadership.

The full list of the Outstanding Contributions to Mathematics Education award winners:

Year Recipient
1972   James Eastham, Queensborough CC
1973   Erwin Just, Bronx Community College
1974   Norm Schaumberger, Bronx Community College
1975   Calvin Lathan, Monroe Community College
1976   Lawrence Trivieri, Mohawk Valley Community College
1977   Herb Gross, Corning Community College
1978   Allyn Washington, Corning Community College
1979   Peter Lindstrom, Genesee Community College
1980   Sheldon Gordon, Suffolk County Community College
1981   Warren Page, New York City Technical College
1982   Gerald Lieblich, Bronx Community College
1983   Geoffrey Akst, Manhattan Community College
1986   Allen Angel, Monroe Community College
1987   Don Cohen, SUNY Cobleskill
1990   Joseph Browne, Onondaga Community College
1991   Richard Schwartz, College of Staten Island
1992   Mona Fabricant, Queensborough Community College
1994   Susan Forman, Bronx Community College
1995   Sadie Bragg, Borough of Manhattan Community College
1996   Rick Patrick, Adirondack Community College
1997   Philip Cheifetz, Nassau Community College
1999   Rose Tan, Westchester Community College
2000   James K. Baker, Jefferson Community College
2005   Dona Boccio, Queensborough Community College
2011   Ernie Danforth, Corning Community College
2012   Roy Cameron, SUNY Cobleskill
2015   Paul Seeburger, Monroe Community College
2016   Mary Beth Orrange, Erie Community College